It’s In The Silence

Image

Often times I have to remind myself that even though all the bells and whistles of photography are nice, they aren’t what make a great photograph. As a photographer I’m constantly challenging myself to do better, be better than the last shoot I had and often am harsh on myself about not doing it “correctly” the first time. Not sure if I’m the only one that feels this way… hope not. 🙂

This morning I was reminded of this quote that I absolutely adore by Ansel Adams…

“When words become unclear, I shall focus with photographs.

When images become inadequate, I shall be content with silence.”

There are moments that just can’t be expressed in paper and ink, they have to be experienced and seen… that’s what photography is for me. It takes me back to that specific moment in time and I’m able to relive it. It’s my own personal time machine. Every frame that is shot is a little reminder of the good, funny, bad, and quiet times that have happened in my life and the life of others that I’ve had the honor of photographing.

So today I encourage you, take out your camera and shoot the moments of silence, laughter, sadness, whatever inspires you!

Leave a Reply

