En Mi Memoria… Abuelita Chusy

Recently my family went through a very big blow. The matriarch of our family passed away. For the past 7 years Maria de Jesus suffered much after she broke her hip. Because of her age and frailty, they opted not to operate her, fearing it would speedy up her passing away.

Those 7 years were spent bed ridden and eventually lead to her suffering from dementia. Even though we knew this day would surely come sooner than later, knowing she had passed affected me more than I ever thought it could.

Growing up most of my childhood in Guatemala I was raised by my grandmother (abuelita) and to me she was truly indescribable. With apron always in tow, she was there to wipe away any tears, kiss any booboos, correct us when we were wrong and love us unconditionally. It’s the things I will never forget.

With her passing my brother and I made our way to Antigua, Guatemala and had a chance to share in many moments of silence, where no words really needed to be said, and moments of contemplation over what had just happened. Tears abounded, but so did laughter in reminiscing of good old times.

I came across this scripture that spoke to my heart… Psalm 48:14 “For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end.”

My mother shared with us how on the last day that my abuelita lived she asked my mom to sing her a praise song she loved “Cuan Grande Es El” (How Great Thou Art). My mom sobbed through the lyrics, but realized that even at the end of her time, all my abuelita wanted to do was give God the praise. And with that, we were put at ease.

My abuelita is in a much better place now… Free of being bed ridden, free of physical pain, free to live with her Heavenly father. Suffering may come for a night, but joy really does come in the morning.

Here are of the shots I took on my trip to Antigua…

DSC_0006

on our way to visit her gravesite

DSC_0024

reminiscing on the good times

DSC_0025

no words

l_6cd6975a4dd14aa0aac0cb0f7f7c9011

part of the family the day we left

5 thoughts on “En Mi Memoria… Abuelita Chusy

  1. I’m sad that my kids never got to meet her, but she will live on in your words and memories. Thank you for taking the time to write them down.

  2. I’m so glad that you were able to go back to Guatemala over the years and that you had extra time to enjoy your Abuelita.

  3. It is strong women like your grandmother that inspire the next generation of women to be great. What a wonderful legacy captured by an equally talented author…

Leave a Reply

